No Heisman for the SEC on Saturday night, but the conference has had 12 trophy winners

Since the Heisman Trophy presentation began featuring finalists in 1982, the SEC has had 29 players invited to New York for the ceremony. That's more than any other conference, even though for the second year in a row, the SEC won't have a player at the presentation on Saturday night.

The 2017 Heisman Trophy will be presented to Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson, Stanford running back Bryce Love or Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield. They're the finalists attending the Saturday ceremony, which will be televised at 8 p.m. CST by ESPN.

The SEC's Heisman count will remain at 12 winners for another season. The conference's Heisman Trophy winners have been:

frank sinkwich.jpg

1942: Frank Sinkwich, Georgia

The SEC’s first winner was an old-school triple-threat back. Sinkwich had become the league’s first 1,000-yard rusher in 1941, then he set a conference single-season passing mark of 1,392 yards as a Heisman-winning senior for the SEC title team. (He’s shown accepting the Heisman in the uniform of the U.S. Marine Corps, ready for duty in World War II.)

Margin of victory: Sinkwich collected 1,059 points. Runner-up Paul Governali, Columbia quarterback, had 218.

billy cannon.jpg

1959: Billy Cannon, LSU

The running back led the Tigers to an undefeated record and the consensus national championship in 1958 before winning the Heisman the next season. In his Heisman season, Cannon was the SEC Player of the Year and a unanimous All-American for the second straight year.

Margin of victory: Cannon collected 1,929 points. Runner-up Richie Lucas, Penn State quarterback, had 613.

steve spurrier.jpg

1966: Steve Spurrier, Florida

Before he became the Head Ball Coach, Spurrier was a record-breaking passer for the Gators, who tied what was then the school record for victories in a season with nine in 1966. As the SEC Player of the Year in 1966, Spurrier broke the conference's single-season record for passing yards that he'd set the previous year.

Margin of victory: Spurrier collected 1,659 points. Runner-up Bob Griese, Purdue quarterback, had 816.